Walk Before You Can Run

It was great timing for me to read last night that Vivobarefoot says “Walk Before You Can Run” because as you know, I‘ve decided to take up running again after 6 years of swearing off running. But first I’ve gotta learn to walk again. Yes, many of us have forgotten how to walk properly! So I’m following their simple but not easy steps to start walking again and in my flash new shoes! Clearly I’m excited (and not some paid advertiser/ambassador blah blah!). But the thought of ‘walk before you can run’ made me think of meditation. If you are new to meditation, interested but don’t know where to start or want to re-start your meditation practice, I would use the same ‘walk before you can run’ advice. Don’t force yourself to sit uncomfortably in a cross-legged position for 30 minutes and ‘hope’ to meditate. It should feel good! So I say, lie down and close your eyes, listen to a short recording and enjoy yourself! Start at the start. Try this 100% free 10 minute guided meditation now and let me know how you go 🙂 https://nikkiveliz.leadpages.co/energyhit/

3 thoughts on “Walk Before You Can Run

  1. rootchopper

    I recently tried to meditate in a cross legged position. After 20 minutes (no lie) my lower legs went numb. Good luck with running. I ran thousands of miles until my knee popped in a volleyball game. Still miss it nearly 30 years later.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Nikki Veliz Post author

      Unless you are used to sitting cross legged it’s highly likely they will go numb. And given your knee popping history I wouldn’t recommend it. A lot of people like me don’t have the core strength to sit upright correctly so end up with a sore back too! If you don’t want to lie down to meditate you can always sit in a chair. Feel free to check out the free guided meditation I have put up. On the running note, my husband went a bit mental when he couldn’t run after a bike injury. Running is his meditation and he would find it really hard not to run ever again. That’s one of the reasons I encourage him to do this lying down meditation…incase he can’t run again at some point!

      Like

      Reply
      1. rootchopper

        I sit on a cushion on the floor, legs out in front, with my back supported (usually by the front of a chair). Works just fine for me. Obviously, the point is to get in a position that will be comfortable for the duration of the meditation. All this meditation talk is making me sleepy. Off to bed.

        Like

Leave a Reply

